The Military Diet – Miracle Diet or Fad? 

After writing an article about how to lose weight, I was intrigued about ways in which other people have lost large amounts of weight. During my research I came across the Military Diet. The diet had many positive reviews, and being a foodie, the diet was perfect for me being only three days, containing vanilla ice cream, and stating the fact you can lose up to ten pounds within these days. When first coming upon the diet I was rather sceptical – I couldn’t imagine the idea of losing such a large amount of weight in three days to be healthy. The diet has its own website to explain the diet fully. It explains how the carefully selected combination of foods work together to trigger your metabolism, hence the fat burn. Reading this, I decided to give it a go myself. If you are also going to try this diet, it is essential that you weigh yourself at the same time during the day of each weighing, preferably morning, with similar clothing on to keep track of weight loss. I weighed myself on the morning of the first day, and on the morning on the fourth day. Unfortunately at the time, I didn’t have access to a body fat measurer, so I was unsure of how much fat I actually lost, but if you have access to one, this would be perfect to keep track of your fat loss.
​Day one I found easy. I didn’t find the portions to be too small as I had heard on some Vlogs, although I did find the breakfast quite a struggle with flavour;

Breakfast – ½ Grapefruit, 1 slice of toast, 2 tablespoons of peanut butter, 1 cup of coffee or tea (black with no sugar).

For any meal including bread I used wholemeal.

Lunch – ½ Cup oF tuna, 1 slice of toast and 1 cup of coffee or tea.

Again the only problem I had with this meal was the coffee, but other than that I was quite satisfied until the next meal;

Dinner – 3 ounces of any meat, 1 cup of green beans, 1 small apple, ½ a banana, and one cup of vanilla ice cream.

I found this meal very filling, and something I would eat on an average day. If unable to weigh the meat, it is advised that you compare the size to a deck of playing cards.

​Moving onto the second day still feeling positive, I again faced no struggles with the food portion sizes. I enjoyed my first meal;

Breakfast – 1 slice of toast, one egg however you like, and half a banana.

Lunch – 1 Cup of cottage cheese, 1 hardboiled egg and five saltine crackers.

As I struggled to find saltine crackers with being an American developed diet I used the alternate of cream crackers.

Dinner – 2 hot dogs (alone), ½ cup of carrots, 1 cup of broccoli, ½ banana and ½ a cup of vanilla ice cream.

I found this meal to be rather random, but still enjoyable.

I found that the final day was the biggest test for me with having the least amount of food.

Breakfast – 5 crackers, 1 slice of cheddar cheese (yes, only one slice), and one small apple.

I found this rather challenging as the crackers were very dry with only having limited cheese.

Lunch – 1 slice of toast and one egg.

I decided to scramble my egg for this one, and strangely enough wasn’t too hungry until closer to my final meal.

Dinner – 1 cup of tuna, ½ banana, and 1 cup of vanilla ice cream.

Although during this diet I tried to spread out the meals as far apart from each other to ensure that I wasn’t hungry during the evenings when I would usually be tempted to snack, due to the small lunch during day three, I ate my dinner earlier than the previous two days and did become slightly hungry later in the evening, but knowing the hard work and dedication could pay off, I stayed determined to stay on track.

From completing this diet, there are many tips I can give. Firstly, drink as much water as you can. There is no limit on water, so keep hydrated. It’s also surprising how water can stop you feeling hungry. You might feel hungry, but you may have mistaken it for thirst. As a person who loves cups of tea throughout the day, I found this diet refreshing, and have since cut down on the amount I consume.

​Another piece of advice I would give, bearing in mind I was completely oblivious to this before starting the diet, is one cup doesn’t mean filling a drinking cup. This is an American term for measuring, so try and find a converter so you do not over consume, as this is a carefully constructed diet based on portion control.

​Finally, try to keep busy during the day. As I was either working or at the gym for classes, I was very distracted from the temptation of food. Usually, boredom is a main cause for my snacking. If you too face this problem, try and make plans in advance to keep sidetracked.

So the answer you have all been waiting for – does this diet actually work? Already picking up a new lifestyle and being very active at the gym, within these three days I lost three pounds. Although not the ten pounds I hoped for, this diet still worked. There are reasons I now consider could have affected the weight loss such as the fact I measured the ‘cups’ wrong, or the possibility of the fact I was also working hard on muscle classes at the gym. I still consider this diet beneficial, as it boosted my weight loss, helped me gain awareness of portion control, and has inspired me to dedicate myself to losing weight, as it is clearly achievable if you put in the effort.

​Would I do this diet again? Yes, I would like to give it another shot. The three days went by pretty quickly, and as stated on the website for the diet, it is advised and safe to have a four day break then complete the diet again.

So for those of you considering this diet, good luck, and keep us updated on your stories in the comments below.

Written by Christina Cooper.

Leave a Reply

